Metta Capital Managers Proprietary Limited

Funds Details

: R200 000 000
: January 25 2018
: February 23 2018
: R500 000
: Metta Capital Managers Proprietary Limited
: Various - on average 20%
: 1.86% p.a + 0.5% p.a platform fee
: 1.60% once off
: 16%
: 5% - 8% P.A. on gross capital invested

Please note that this fund is currently closed for investment.

Malcolm Segal,
Non-Executive Director
B. Com CA (SA) CPA (ISR)

After qualifying as a Chartered Accountant in 1972, Malcolm practiced as a partner of Grant Thornton LLP (Chartered Accountant and Business Advisers) and was elected Managing Partner of the Johannesburg office in 1986 and National Executive Chairman in 1989. Malcolm resigned from Grant Thornton LLP in 1997 to establish a private equity investment fund which he managed until acquired by Sasfin Holdings Limited in 2005. February 2012, Malcolm resigned from the boards of both Sasfin Holdings Limited and Sasfin Bank Limited to enable him to pursue his passion - entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial investment activities. Malcolm currently sits on the boards of various companies in which he holds private equity investments and inter alia is also an External Member of the Special Credit Committee of the Industrial Development Corporation of South Africa Limited and a member of the Listings Advisory Committee of AltX (Alternate Exchange of the Johannesburg Stock Exchange). Malcolm is also the Chairman of KMC Chain Industrial Co., Ltd.

Douglas Raymond Smollan,
Non-Executive Director
B. Com, MBL

Doug is Chairman of The Smollan Group which was founded by Doug’s father, Fred Smollan, in 1931. The Smollan Group employs roughly 50 000 people and has a presence in 5 (five) continents. Doug is passionate about South Africa, its people and its development. He served as President of Young Presidents Organisation Worldwide in 1994/1995, the second Non-American to do so in 50 (fifty) years, at that time he was Chairman of Business Against Crime (BAC), Gauteng in 1997. In 2000, he joined BACs National Board. Doug heads up the Consumer Goods Council of South Africa Anti-Crime initiative. Doug is a Pioneer of the Nelson Mandela: The Champion Within Program with Life College to develop R1,000,000 (one million rand) champions by 2020.

Nicholas Dennis,
Non-Executive Director
B. Com (Hons)

Nick obtained his Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) degree at the University of the Witwatersrand. Nick started working as a marketing trainee with Colgate-Palmolive Proprietary Limited. Over the next 14 (fourteen) years he went on to become the Group Product Manager (United Kingdom), Managing Director Colgate Sports Group of companies, Deputy Managing Director Joseph Terry (New York), and Assistant Managing Director, Colgate Palmolive, Germany. He returned to South Africa where he joined Barlow Rand Limited.

Nick has served on the boards of Barlow Rand Limited, C G Smith Sugar Ltd, C G Smith Foods Limited, Tiger Brands Limited, Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers, Nedbank Ltd and Lodestone Brands Proprietary Limited, of which some he held an executive position as CEO. He currently serves on the board of Anchor Capital Limited, Medu Capital Proprietary Limited and Universal Paints Corporation Pvt Ltd and is an advisor to Sango Capital Management Proprietary Limited. Nick’s pro bono work includes Childline South Africa - Gauteng, The African Children’s Feeding Scheme, Finance Committee of St. Stithians College and a director of Conservation 360, an organisation which strives to protect endangered wildlife, and to provide safe habitats for elephant and rhino in Botswana.

Jeffrey Wayne Miller,
Non-Executive Director
B. Com B.Acc CA (SA)

Jeff is a qualified Chartered Accountant with over 30 (thirty) years experience investing in listed and unlisted companies across numerous industries. Jeff is a start-up specialist, having co-founded numerous companies including Brandcorp Proprietary Limited (listed on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange in 1997), KNR Flatrock Proprietary Limited, Balboa Finance Proprietary Limited, Born Free Investments 272 Proprietary Limited, Eurosuit Proprietary Limited, Bride and Co Special Occasions Proprietary Limited, Redwood Capital Partners Proprietary Limited, Seed Engine Proprietary Limited. Jeff is a co-founder of the Grovest Group and VCMS, the pioneers of Section 12J Venture Capital Companies in South Africa. VCMS is currently the administration manager for 25 (twenty-five) registered VCC’s. Jeff is also a founder of Metta Capital Managers, the first Section 12J fund of funds offering to the market. Jeff is a member of the sub-committee of The Southern African Venture Capital and Private Equity Association, focused on Venture Capital.

Michael Solomon Teke,
Non-Executive Chairman
BA (Ed) B.Ed, BA (Hons), MBA

Mike obtained his Bachelor of Education in 1989, he then went on to complete his Bachelor of Education (Honours) in 1996. In 2002, Mike completed his Master’s Degree. He started working as a school teacher in 2002 and then went on to serving multiple HR roles at Unilever SA Ltd, Bayer Proprietary Limited, BHP Billiton Ltd and Impala Platinum Ltd until 2007. In 2008, Mike left Impala Platinum to become one of the founding members of Optimum Coal where he was then appointed as the CEO and where he played an integral role in the listing of Optimum Coal on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange in March 2010. In September 2012, Mike became the Non-Executive Chairman of Optimum Coal Proprietary Limited until April 2015. In November 2013 Mike was appointed as the President of the Chamber of Mines of South Africa until May 2017. Mike is now the CEO of Seriti Resources Holdings Proprietary Limited and the Non-Executive Chairman of Rolfes Technology Holdings Ltd, Anchor Group Ltd and Tellumat Proprietary Limited, and the Deputy Chairman of Council at the University of Johannesburg. Mike is the founding and controlling shareholder of Dedicoal Proprietary Limited, he is also the Executive Chairman and controlling shareholder of a diversified investment company, Masimong Group Holdings Proprietary Limited.

Dr. Adrian Saville,
Independent Non-Executive Director of the Investment Committee
BA (Hons) M. Com (Cum laude), PhD

Adrian holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) (cum laude), M. Com (cum laude) and a PhD (Economics) from the University of Natal, and for which he was awarded the Economics Society of South Africa’s Founders Medal. He is a United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation laureate and a matriculant of Linacre College (Oxford). Adrian has completed programmes in investing and competitive strategy at New York’s Columbia University and Harvard Business School in Boston. In 1994, Adrian formed an investment vehicle which became the forerunner to Cannon Asset Managers which he founded in 1998. Today Adrian serves as Chief Executive at Cannon Asset Managers. He also holds a Professorship of Economics, Finance & Strategy at the Gordon Institute of Business Science.

Contact Us

For any further information on this investment opportunity, please enter your details below and we will get back to you.